Florida Wage and Hour Update
Florida’s minimum wage just went up 36 cents at the first of this year. It’s now $7.61 per hour. The minimum wage for tipped employees went up by the same increased amount to $4.65 per hour. This is the first wage increase since 2009. Florida’s minimum wage is the result of a 2004 voter-approved amendment to the Florida Constitution, and it applies to all Florida employees who are covered by the federal minimum wage. Under federal law, employers are required to pay either the federal minimum hourly wage or the states’, whichever is higher. Since Florida’s 2012 minimum hourly wage will remain higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, employers must follow Florida law. Florida Employment Law and Wage and Hour laws are very specific and designed to protect the worker. Sometimes employers do not honor your employment rights and our employment lawyers can help you. If you feel your paycheck does not reflect what you’re owed, look for some of the common things employers do to reduce the amount of money they owe you for your work:
- Denied overtime pay?
- Told to arrive to work early and start before you punch in?
- Fewer hours than you actually worked reflected in your pay stub?
- Paid in cash?
These are just a few of the areas our employment lawyers can address to help you get the wages you earned at your workplace. For a free consultation contact the Law Offices of Robert Rubenstein at rubensteinlaw.com or 1800-FL-Legal (355-3425). You pay nothing unless we recover money for you.